Lamb of God

by spencertubbs

Easter is a time for new beginnings, and this Easter was no exception. I have long dreamt about roasting a leg of lamb, and, after coming across a remarkable deal at my local grocer ($2.99/lb WTF!?!) I determined that this was my time. (Nothing really says “I’m not fucking around” like roasting a whole goddamn leg of an animal) My wallet a mere $17.68 lighter, and my basket nearly 6lbs of lamb heavier, I began to wonder how I was going to go about making the Lamb of God that I have always dreamt of. After consulting with the infamous Silver Spoon cookbook I decided I’d try my hand at a version of their Herb Crusted Leg of Lamb. I wanted something simple and traditional, and that’s exactly what this recipe is. Chopped parsley, thyme, rosemary, and oregano with olive oil, salt and pepper rubbed all over that sexy leg:

20140423-110332.jpg
To get that crust you have to start out high and drop it down low. (Drop it like its hot bitches #LowAndSlow)
Here’s the lamb roasted at 475F for 20 minutes: (Two probes ’cause that’s how I roll)

20140423-110320.jpg
Nearly two hours later at 325F the lamb is reborn into this sexy beast: (Like, fuck. Look at that fucking bone.)

20140423-110327.jpg
Rested for 10 minutes and served with white beans in a tomato sauce, and a lovely Mediterranean style orzo salad complete with feta, kalamata olives, cherry tomatoes and fresh chopped parsley dressed with a lemon vinaigrette; you’re eating well. Pairs well with a nice Bordeaux. Cheers Jesus! (Our savior never tasted better.)

20140423-110310.jpg
And always remember:

Hell is other people in the kitchen.

